Board of Directors

Constitution Documents | Corporate Structure | Management Structure

D A PILKINGTON – BSc, BE, GradDip Dairy Science & Technology, Chair
David Pilkington was a member of Fonterra’s senior executive team. He holds Directorships in Douglas Pharmaceuticals Limited, Northport Limited, Port of Tauranga Trustee Company Limited, PrimePort Timaru Limited and Zespri Group Limited. David chairs Hellers Limited and Rangatira Limited. He has a strong background in marketing, international business and supply chain logistics. David joined the Board in July 2005.
A W BAYLIS – MCom (1st Class Honours), FCA, FNZIM, AFInstD
Bill Baylis is a Director of PrimePort Timaru Limited. He has broad governance experience over a wide range of industries. Bill joined the Board in February 2006.
K R ELLIS – BCA Economics (1st Honours), BE Chemical (1st Honours)
Kim Ellis is Chair of Metlifecare Limited and NZ Social Infrastructure Fund Limited, and a Director of Ballance Agri-Nutrients Limited, Fonterra Shareholders Fund (FSF) Management Company Limited, and Freightways Limited. Kim joined the Board in May 2013 and chairs the Remuneration Committee.

Julia Hoare has a comprehensive range of commercial, financial, tax, regulatory and sustainability expertise which she developed over the course of 20 years as a partner with PwC. She retired from the PwC partnership on 31 December 2012 to pursue a full time corporate governance career. Julia is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants and a Member of the Institute of Directors.

Other directorships include: Director, AWF Madison Group Limited, New Zealand Post Limited, The A2 Milk Company Limited (and subsidiary The A2 Milk Company [New Zealand] Limited) and Watercare Services Limited, and Member of Auckland Committee, Institute of Directors, Advisory Panel to External Reporting Board and the Institute of Directors Council.

Julia joined the Board in August 2015 and chairs the Audit Committee.

A R LAWRENCE – BCA (Business Admin)

Alastair Lawrence is a very experienced corporate advisor and financier. He was a Director of private investment bank Antipodes Consult Limited from 1998-2014. He was also a member of the Takeovers Panel in its formative years from 2001-2008 and a Director of Landcare Research from 2004-2010.

Alastair is currently a Director of and investor in a number of private New Zealand companies. He joined the Board in February 2014.

Doug Leeder is Chair of Bay of Plenty Regional Council. He is a dairy farmer, and has considerable experience in governance and management. Doug has held positions of governance in Federated Farmers, was a Director and Chair of Bay Milk Products, Director of the East Bay Health Board, Chair of Subsidiaries East Bay Energy Trust, Chair NZ Dairy Group and Dairy Insight and Director of DEXCEL. He joined the Board in October 2015.
A Tauranga lawyer, Michael Smith is Chair of Quayside Group of Companies, Craigs Investment Partners Superannuation Management Limited and Quay Street Asset Management Limited, and a Director of Custodial Services Limited, First Mortgage Managers Limited and Norfolk Southern Cross Limited. He has an extensive corporate and commercial legal background. Michael joined the Board in August 2001.